Rareness of Human Birth - Part 6

Rareness of Human Birth - Part 6

Jyesta devi dasi

Hare Krishna Prabhujis and Matajis,
Please accept my humble obeisances. All glories to Srila Prabhupada and Srila Gurudeva.

This is in continuation of the previous offering titled, "Rareness of Human Birth" - which is a transcription of the class given by our beloved spiritual master HH Mahavishnu Goswami Maharaj on verse 11.9.29. In the previous offering we heard from Maharaj about how in old-age we should not speak unnecessarily and must focus more on cutting down the vicious cycle of birth and death. Maharaj was quoting the below shloka Srimad Bhagavatam 1.8.36  from Kunti's prayer.

shrnvanti gaayanti grnanti abhikshnashah
smaranti nandanti tavehitam janaaha
ta eva pashyanti acirena taavakam
bhava-pravaaho paramam padaambujam


"O Krishna, those who continuously hear, chant and repeat Your transcendental activities, or take pleasure in others' doing so, certainly see Your lotus feet, which alone can stop the repetition of birth and death."

Now we shall hear further.


6. Guaranteed Way to Stop Repetition of Birth and Death: shrnvanti gaayanti grnanti abhikshnashah - It is very easy. 4 words in one line. shrnvanti—to hear. we always hear so many things, but here it is said, what is to be heard. Then gaayanti—sing, we sing so many things. But here it is particularly said what should we sing - chanting is required. grnanti —grnanti  means accept—take. abhikshnashah—always-- continuously. This is the meaning of the first line. shrnvanti gaayanti grnanti abhikshnashah - these are the 3 things to be done. Recommended by Srimad Bhagavatam. (Maharaj repeats the slokha) This is first line. You now know the meaning. There are 3 words only. abhiksnashah means—continuously. shrnvanti—we need to hear, gaayanty—we need to sing, chant, grnanty — we need to accept. And this we should do continuously without break. In second line, then two more things are given —smaranti, nandanti.nandanti means take pleasure, smaranti means remember, we should remember, we should take pleasure—where? tavehitam janaah. smaranti nandanti tavehitam janaah. janaah means persons, devotees, who are interested to hear about Krishna—who are interested to chant about Krishna, to accept the supremacy of Krishna—continuously, to remember continuously, who take pleasure in the association of the people, or the association of the devotees who are chanting the glories of the Lord. Is it clear?

Please repeat half the verse after me ( Maharaj recites and devotees repeat) He said, if you accept these 5 things shrnvanti gaayanti grnanti smaranti, nandanti - tavehitam janaah. These are the 5 things—if you do that, ta eva pashyanti—acirena taavakam. Bhagavatam guarantees. ta eva means, those people who cover these 5 things, eva means certainly taavakam means you are guaranteed. And Bhagavatam will not falsely guarantee you. You see. The material guarantee, "this machine has guarantee for 12 months", and if you come back after 12 months, your machine will be completely out. They deceive you. But Bhagavatam will never do that. Bhagavatam says that if you follow these 5 things—ta eva definitely, certainly you will pashyanty—you will see, acirena—cirena means delay—acirena means without any delay. ta eva pashyanty acirena taavakam.

And then in the 4th line, last word is padaambujam paada means Your lotus feet—ambujam means the lotus flower—immediately they will see Your lotus feet. It is guaranteed, and then if you see the lotus feet, the first word in the 4th line describes, it very nicely says, what will happen. He is saying. bhava pravaaha uparamam. bhava means referring to the 4 kinds of material existence and that guarantees—janma-mrtyu-jara-vyaadi that birth, death, disease and old age uparamam—ceases. Completely ceasing—you will cease the vicious cycle—you have to follow these 5 things. If you do that, you will continuously see the lotus feet of the Lord and if you see the lotus feet of the Lord continuously, then automatically your janma- mrtyu—jaraa—vyaadi will be completely stopped. This is the recommended process.

Krishna willing we shall continue to hear more nectar from Maharaj in the subsequent offering.

Hare Krishna.
Thank you very much,
Yours in service of Srila Prabhupada and Srila Gurudeva,
Jyesta devi dasi,