Drink the Nectar of Bhakti - Part 1

28th Dec 2014
Sudarshana devi dasi

Hare Krishna Prabhujis and Matajis,
Please accept my humble obeisances. All glories to Srila Prabhupada and Srila Gurudeva.

The following is a humble effort to transcribe one of the nectarean class given by our beloved spiritual master HH Mahavishnu Goswami Maharaj in Belgium on Srimad Bhagavatam verse 10.8.21.

1. Drink the nectarean juice of bhakti: We are all very special living entities and because we are all special, we are coming under the roof of Srila Prabhupada and that too to just glorify Sri Sri Radha Govindji. That is the purpose here. And as soon as this purpose is served, in a day or two, we will be thrown out from here - how? "daivenaikatra nītānām unnītānāṁ sva-karmabhiḥ" Nice Sanskrit language is here. nītānām means come together and unnītānāṁ means thrown apart. And how? sva-karmabhiḥ. We have our own karmas. Somebody is engaged in business work or service. Somebody is engaged in family matters or somewhere else. And according to our karmic reactions, we will be thrown apart. Few lucky living entities will be able to continue under the same roof to glorify the Lord. Please make best of your stay here and you please continuously drink the nectarean juice of devotional service. Let us glorify the Lord by singing kirtans. 

(Maharaj begins to soulfully sing jaya rādha mādhava) You should remember the meanings  of the names of the Lord, and they are in a sequence. They are not randomly put together, but placed in a sequence. jaya gopi jana vallabha jaya girivaradhāri - There are 3 names here. Gopi means we always think of the cowherd girls in Vrindavan. But gopi is very nicely described in the pages of Srimad Bhagavatam. Gopi has very nice definition. gowbhiḥ bhakti rasam pibati iti gopi. gow means senses - with all our senses, gowbhiḥ bhakri rasam - the nectarean juice of devotional service - one who drinks this juice is gopi. We are all gopis in one sense, provided we continuously drink the nectarean juice of devotional service. And we have 11 senses. Five are knowledge acquiring senses. śrotraṁ cakṣuḥ sparśanaṁ ca rasanaṁ ghrāṇam eva ca. These are 5 knowledge acquiring senses and we have 5 working organs (vāk, hasta, pāda, upastha, guda). So five knowledge acquiring senses and five working organs. And there is one controlling sense which is the mind. With all these senses you have to drink the bhakti rasa and that is gopi. This process has been started by Srila Prabhupada and has been increasing ever since then.

Krishna willing we shall continue to hear more nectar from Maharaj in the subsequent offering.

Thank you very much.
Yours in service of Srila Prabhupada and Srila Gurudeva,
Sudarshana devi dasi.